Greek stoner/hard rock quartet PUTA VOLCANO stream new single

Written by on 15th February 2020

Greek hard rock, stoner, sludge quartet PUTA VOLCANO have revealed their new single ‘Black Box’, the second glimpse of their forthcoming LP Amma, due 13th March.


Listen here:


Watch the video:



Pre-order on limited Gold/Black Vinyl, CD and limited T-shirt bundles:
Pre-save on Spotify and all digital platforms:


Lyrically ‘Black Box’ challenges the constant struggle to become something more, against all odds and against adversity. The song’s video provides a visualisation of this struggle.


“The concept of the ‘Black Box’ music video is a metaphorical depiction of the struggles a contemporary individual, and more specifically a woman, goes through,” the band explains.

“A literal battlefield of symbolism and stereotypes thrown against us daily, formed by societal norms and fixed gender roles. We all have encountered these as we run closer to our own finishing lines, minute by minute.”


Musically, ‘Black Box’ is a heavy, bound-to-the-ground track, with a new flair for the band in the form of dimensional layers of backing vocals. The slow, Tool-style backbone of the song continues to build right up to the epic finish, complete with tempo change and second vocalist in bassist, Bookies.

PUTA VOLCANO are building up their legacy and fanbase, one gig, one album, one song at the time. An already-acknowledged cog in the Greek heavy rock scene, the band formed in 2012, releasing their debut EP Represent Victory Below Eye. PUTA VOLCANO’s debut full-length The Sun (2015) was recognised as a fresh and inspiring offering, and soon after the band started gigging regularly, including 2015’s Rockwave Festival in Athens, alongside The Black Keys and 1000mods.

In 2017 PUTA VOLCANO released their celebrated Harmony Of Spheres LP, a heady mixture of Seattle grunge, stoner and Southern rock, all with a South-Eastern European twist. The year that the quartet truly kicked on, Harmony Of Spheres was toured across the EU, at Desertfest Athens, and led to PUTA VOLCANO supporting Alice In Chains and Fu Manchu at Release Athens Fest last year.

Now we look to 2020, with the forthcoming Amma LP – a highly enterprising and unusual release, full of heft and verve. Elements of Alice In Chains, Melvins, Hole, even A Perfect Circle, Kylesa and Baroness combine to create a tantalising listen, showcasing a young band really hitting their stride.


Anna (Lead Singer)
Alex Pi (Guitar)
Steven Stefanidis (Drums)
Bookies (Bass, Backing Vocals)





1 Re-Entry
2 Entropica
3 Venus Lullaby
4 First Light
5 Black Box
6 Sugar Cube
7 Echoing Icons
8 Primitive Data
9 Apnea
10 Torus
11 Space Blanket
12 Kassandra’s Gift



Metal Meyhem Radio

The South Coast's New Rock Alternative

Current track



%d bloggers like this: