Metal Meyhem Radio

The South Coast's New Rock Alternative

Current track



Roadrunner Records’ newest signing making waves both sides of the Atlantic

Written by on 11th September 2019

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Roadrunner Records’ newest signing making waves both sides of the Atlantic


Leeds quintet Higher Power have announced their signing to Roadrunner Records and will release their first album for the label, ‘27 Miles Underwater’, on January 24th. Having earned acclaim for their distinctive mix of grunge, hardcore and alternative rock, the band have also shared the album’s lead single ‘Seamless’ along with its official music video.

“Seamless was one of the last songs we wrote for the record. It came together so naturally, we knew from the moment we wrote it that it was going to be the first song we release. It perfectly encapsulates everything the record is about in a short catchy heavy song.” says vocalist Jimmy Wizard.


Recorded with producer Gil Norton at Modern World Studios in Tetbury, Gloucestershire, ‘27 Miles Underwater’ follows Higher Power’s debut album ‘Soul Structure’, which made Revolver’s 20 Best Albums of 2017 roundup.  Pre-orders  for ‘27 Miles Underwater’ are available from with exclusive bundles – including limited edition vinyl.

Comprised of brothers Jimmy Wizard (vocals) and Alex Wizard (drums), Louis Hardy (guitar), Max Harper (guitar) and Ethan Wilkinson (bass), Higher Power quickly established themselves as a crossover force with their self-titled three-song demo in 2015. Bucking trends and forgoing boundaries, word of the group’s NYHC inspired grooves and positive expression quickly spread. ‘Space to Breathe’, a three-song 7-inch, followed in August 2015 stacking layers of social consciousness and progressive intellect on top of the band’s visceral compositions. ‘Soul Structure’ arrived in 2017 to critical acclaim on both sides of the Atlantic, as their post-genre approach filtered hardcore through a sonic spectrum of rap, rock, funk and psychedelia.


An unrelenting live act, Higher Power have been embraced for their euphoric performances on tours alongside Turnstile, Angel Du$t and Knocked Loose. Having recently completed performances at the Reading and Leeds Festivals, Higher Power are currently on a North American tour as support to Vein and Soft Kill. They’ll also support Backtrack at London’s Amersham Arms (November 8th) and the Brudenell Social Club in Leeds (November 9th).


Please see for a full list of dates and ticket information.

‘27 Miles Underwater’ tracklist:

1. ‘Seamless’

2. ‘Shedding Skin’

3. ‘Lost In Static’

4. ‘Rewire (101)’

5. ‘Low Season’

6. ‘Passenger’

7. ‘King Of My Domain’

8. ‘In The Meantime’

9. ‘Staring At The Sun’

10. ‘Self-Rendered: Lost’

11. ‘Drag The Line’


27 Miles Underwater is set for release on 24th January 2020



%d bloggers like this: