aswekeepsearching: Hindi post-rock band stream new playthrough

Written by on 13th September 2019

The world’s only Hindi-language post-rock band aswekeepsearching continue to push boundaries with their playthrough for guitar, bass, and violin, for their new track ‘A Night In Zottegem’, taken from their new LP Rooh due 27th September.


Premiered via GuitarWorld, you can now watch the playthrough here:

aswekeepsearching are a truly unique proposition – there are no groups quite like the quartet, who combine Hindi-language singing and traditional Indian instruments and soundscapes with ethereal, cathartic post-rock.

Following the much lauded Zia (2017), aswekeepsearching have created another breathtakingly beautiful release in Rooh. Entirely cinematic in scope and all-encompassing in ambition, Rooh is an album that further cements aswekeepsearching’s position as one of the finest contemporary rock bands.

Following the release of Zia the band toured Europe for the second time, a 15-date run with Tides Of Man, which included acclaimed sets at dunk! Festival (Belgium) and Pelagic Fest(Germany). aswekeepsearching have also previously played alongside God Is An Astronaut, Steven Wilson, Plini, 65daysofstatic, as well as performing at every major festival in India, including NH7 Weekender and VH1 Supersonicaswekeepsearching are currently celebrating Rooh with an album listening tour across India, having also become the first band in the country to launch a fashion label.

Rooh is, in fact, a loose concept album centred on the idea of growth, a depiction of the band’s journey so far, as shown in track titles ‘A Night In Zottegem’ and ‘Gangtey’, but also ‘Eneke Najaaba’, which describes the emotion of bidding goodbye to the sun as it sets.
aswekeepsearching have also seen change in personnel, with drummer Gautam Deb departing to be replaced by longtime friend & collaborator Sambit Chatterjee, who played Tabla on their previous album. Rooh is mixed and mastered by legend Forrester Savell, and self-produced by the band.


Rooh tracklisting:

1: Chasing Light
2: Green and Blue
3: Aas Paas
4: Eneke Najaaba
5: Rooh
6: A night in Zottegem
7: Aitbaar
8: Gangtey

Metal Meyhem Radio

The South Coast's New Rock Alternative

Current track



%d bloggers like this: